I showed God my plans

I showed God my plans

and God smiled ear to ear,
as if being presented 
with a child’s first poem.

I showed God my plans
and God wept, 
knowing the precious under pressure 
is fragile and easily breaks.

I showed God my plans
and God asked some questions,
wanting to save me from myself 
yet enjoying my imagination.

I showed God my plans 
and God laughed,
knowing that no plan 
ever survives its paper.

I showed God my plans
and we danced 
them off the page 
and into a world in waiting.

And one day,
when I was ready,
I asked for God’s plan.
There were no instructions
but a canvass,
an artist still at work,
a smile of delight,
tears, 
laughter, 
questions, 
an imagination 
and a dance.

 

 

andrew norton

New Year’s Day 2014

 

 

 

1 Comment

January 2, 2014 · 7:47 am

One response to “I showed God my plans

  1. Margaret and Colin Prentice

    Magnificent journey within the poem.

    Great.

    7A Hostel Access Road

    Eastern Beach

    AUCKLAND 2012 NZ

    Ph 09 535 7551

    Mobile 0210 355 435 (Colin)

    0210 257 8547 (Margaret)

Leave a Reply

